International Association of Agricultural Economics

towards a prosperous, sustainable, well-nourished world

Dr. Carl K. Eicher Award

This award is named after the late Dr. Carl K. Eicher to honor his outstanding contributions to African agricultural research and educations. It was established by family, friends and colleagues of Dr. Eicher to recognize the best doctoral dissertation relating to agricultural economics applied to an African problem. 

2018 Winners

  • Ellen McCullough (Cornell University)
    “Structural Transformation in Sub-Saharan Africa: Agricultural Productivity, Labor Supply, and Occupational Choice”
  • Goedele Van den Broeck (KU Leuven)
    “Global Food Value Chains and Rural Employment in Senegal: Welfare and Gender Implications”

Honorable Mention

  • Julia Berazneva (Cornell University)
    “Reconciling Food, Energy and Environmental Outcomes: Three Essays on the Economics of Biomass Management in Western Kenya”
  • Joey Goeb (Michigan State University)
    “Information, Knowledge, and Demand for Substitute Health Inputs: Experimental Evidence of Pesticide Use in Zambia” 

2015 Winners

  • Ghada Elabed (World Bank Group)

Honorable Mention:

  • Jordan Chamberlin (Michigan State University) and Nathaniel D. Jensen (Cornell University)